University Joint Health & Safety Committee

The University Joint Health and Safety Committee is comprised of Employee and Employer members representing the UNBC community.

The Committee mandate is to advise, assist, and make recommendations to help minimize workplace risks, and potential for accidents and injuries thereby improving the health, safety, and personal security of Students, Faculty, Staff, Contractors, and Visitors to the University.

If you have any questions or concerns please contact your appropriate member representative below.

University Joint Health and Safety Committee Members 

EMPLOYER REPRESENTATIVES
NAME                                       POSITION                                                                        EMAIL
Sarah Elliott, (Co-Chair)
Employer Rep 
Director, Safety and Security sarah.elliott@unbc.ca
Colleen Smith 
Employer Rep, Alternate
Interim VP, Finance colleen.smith@unbc.ca
Kerry Roberts,
Employer Rep 
Director of Human Resources kerry.roberts@unbc.ca
Sean Kinsley,     
Employer Rep, Alternate                         
Senior Financial Analyst
sean.kinsley@unbc.ca
Ian Hartley,
Employer Rep
Dean of CSAM ian.hartley@unbc.ca
Shannon Wagner,
Employer Rep
Interim Dean of CASHS shannon.wagner@unbc.ca
Vacant
Employer Rep, Alternate
Vacant
Twylla Hamelin,
Employer Rep 
Administrative Director NMP twylla.hamelin@unbc.ca
Trevor Smith
Employer Rep, Alternate
Manager, School of Nursing
trevor.smith@unbc.ca
David Claus,
Employer Rep
Director, Facilities/ Capital Planning david.claus@unbc.ca
Aaron Olsen,
Employer Rep, Alternate
Manager, Facilities Operations
aaron.olsen@unbc.ca
EMPLOYEE REPRESENTATIVES
Helen Lapp, (Co-Chair)
CUPE Employee Rep
Library Technical Assistant helen.lapp@unbc.ca
Deb Schweder,
CUPE Employee Rep, Alternate
Administrative Assistant Security & Parking deb.schweder@unbc.ca
Joyce Henley,
CUPE Employee Rep
Student Recruitment Officer joycehenley@unbc.ca
Beth Gentleman,
CUPE Employee Rep,  Alternate
Chemistry Lab Technician beth.gentleman@unbc.ca
Christa Florell,
Faculty Employee Rep,  
FA-Professional Svs Officer christa.florell@unbc.ca
Chris Jackson,
Faculty Employee Rep, Alternate
Senior Lab Instructor - GEOG chris.jackson@unbc.ca
Malgorzata (Mal) Kaminska,
Faculty Employee Rep
Assistant Prof - NMP malgorzata.kaminska@unbc.ca
Saphida Migabo,
Faculty Employee Rep, Alternate
Sr Lab Instructor - ESM(BIOL)
saphida.migabo@unbc.ca
Dorna Sobhani
CUPE 2278 Employee Rep
TA -Chemistry sobhani@unbc.ca
Vacant,
CUPE 2278 Employee Rep, Alternate
Navjot Kaur,
CUPE 2278 Employee Rep 
TA -Chemistry kaurn0@unbc.ca
Navjot Kaur,
CUPE 2278 Employee Rep, Alternate
TA - Computer Science navjot.kaur2@unbc.ca
COMMITTEE RESOURCES
Lydia Troc,
Ex-Officio Resource
Manager, Health & Safety lydia.troc@unbc.ca
Conan Ma,
Ex-Officio Resource
Chemical Safety Officer conan.ma@unbc.ca
Tammy Klassen-Ross,
Ex-Officio Resource
Assistant Professor HLSC tammy.klassen-ross@unbc.ca
Natalie de Bruyn,
Ex-Officio Resource
NHSRF Coordinator natalie.debruyn@unbc.ca
Jennifer Skaar,
Recording Secretary
Risk & Safety Assistant jennifer.skaar@unbc.ca

Meeting Minutes

2019 Minutes     

       2020 Minutes    

January 2019 January 2020
February 2019 February 2020
March 2019 April 2020
April 2019 May 2020
May 2019 June 2020
June 2019 July 2020
July 2019 August 2020
August 2019
September 2019
October 2019
December 2019

Terms of Reference