Psychology Faculty and Staff

The faculty and staff of the Psychology Department at UNBC are committed to student learning by promoting excellence in teaching, research, and service. Our members have received a number of awards over the years:

  • Dr. Bill Owen - Teaching Excellence Award (2006)
  • Dr. Ken Prkachin - Research Excellence Award (2008)
  • Dr. Paul Siakaluk - Teaching Excellence Award (2008)
  • Dr. Sherry Beaumont - Teaching Excellence Award (2009)
  • Dr. Loraine Lavallee - University Achievement Award for Teaching (2012)
  • Dr. Paul Madak - University Achievement Award for Teaching (2015)
  • Brian Duffels, PhD Candidate - University Achievement Award for Teaching (2017)

Department Chair

Siakaluk, Dr. Paul

PhD (University of Alberta)
Department Chair, Professor

Phone: 250-960-6120

Dr. Siakaluk started on faculty at UNBC in the summer of 2004.

Research Interests

My research interests involve taking an embodied cognition perspective on language and conceptual processing.

Potential graduate students: If you are interested in pursuing graduate studies (MSc, PhD) under my supervision, please contact me well in advance of the January application deadline. Undergraduate students: Please contact me if you are interested in conducting either an Honours degree or independent studies research project under my supervision.

My lab is currently funded with an NSERC Discovery Grant.


  • Dr. Sherry Beaumont
    PhD (University of Waterloo)
    • Undergraduate Advisor, Professor
    250-960-6501 / Lab: 250-960-6062

    Dr. Beaumont received her PhD in Developmental Psychology from the University of Waterloo in 1993. She started on faculty at UNBC in July 1994.
  • Dr. Steven Cronshaw
    PhD (University of Akron)
    • Professor

    Dr. Cronshaw has been a professor with the School of Business since 2007. He teaches in the Field of Human Resources Management and his research interests include the factors leading to successful adaptation of workers to conditions in the workplace.
  • Dr. Henry Harder
    RPsych, EdD (University of British Columbia)
    • Professor
    • Leadership Council Co-Chair, Health Research Institute

    Dr. Henry G. Harder is an Indigenous Scholar and is Professor and past Chair of the School of Health Sciences at the University of Northern British Columbia. He currently holds the Dr. Donald B. Rix BC Leadership Chair in Aboriginal Environmental Health. He is a registered psychologist. Dr. Harder... more
  • Dr. Cindy Hardy
    RPsych, PhD (Concordia)
    • Graduate Advisor, Professor

    Dr. Hardy started on faculty at UNBC in September 1994. She completed her doctorate in 1997 at Concordia University, Montreal.
  • Julie Howard
    MSc (University of Northern British Columbia)
    • Senior Lab Instructor

    Mrs. Howard received her MSc from UNBC in 2001, and started teaching there in 2002. She teaches material in research methods and statistics, and conducts research on emotional expression in music.
  • PhD (University of British Columbia)
    • Assistant Professor

    Dr. Lavallee received her PhD in social psychology from UBC in 2000 and took a faculty position at UNBC that same year. She has an interdisciplinary background having completed a BA in history and a research fellowship in the Faculty of Forestry at UBC. Her research work investigates environmental... more
  • Dr. Han Li
    PhD (University of Victoria, Canada), MA (University of Victoria, Canada), MPH (Master of Public Health University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA)
    • Professor

  • Dr. William Owen
    BSc (Augustana University College), MA, PhD (University of Saskatchewan)
    • Associate Professor

    Dr. Owen started on faculty at UNBC in the summer of 2002. He completed his PhD at the University of Saskatchewan. He is currently the Acting Dean of Student Success and Enrollment Management.
  • Dr. Paul Siakaluk
    PhD (University of Alberta)
    • Department Chair, Professor

    Dr. Siakaluk started on faculty at UNBC in the summer of 2004.

Part-Time Instructors

Duffels, Brian
Phone: 250-960-5726
Office: 10-3552

Olynick, Janna
Phone: 250-960-5002
Office: 10-3562

Thursfield, Jonathan
Phone: 250-960-6632
Office: 10-3580

Adjunct Faculty

Climenhage, James, BA (SFU), MA (SFU), PhD (SFU)

Klassen-Ross, Tammy, BA (UBC), MSc (UNBC), PhD (UNBC)

Madak, Paul, BA (St Bonaventure), MA (Manitoba), PhD (Manitoba)

Prkachin, Glenda, BA (Carleton), MA (Carleton), PhD (UBC)

Prkachin, Dr. Ken, PhD (University of British Columbia)

Rocha, Elizabeth, BA (British Columbia), MSc (Northern British Columbia), PhD (Saskatchewan)

Seaton, Cherisse​, MSc (UNBC), PhD (UNBC)