UNBC Northwest Campus

Home to spectacular mountains, winding rivers and unique wildlife like the Kermode bear, the Northwest Region has much to boast.  UNBC has two campuses in the region:  Terrace Campus and Prince Rupert Campus. Terrace Campus serves as the headquarters for the Northwest Region. UNBC students can take courses at either campus, or in a number of other northwest communities (Houston, Smithers, Hazelton, Stewart, Kitimat, Nass Valley, and Haida Gwaii).

Terrace is located on a series of natural flat benches within the Skeena River Valley at the easternmost boundary of the territories of the Tsimshian. It is approximately 144 km from Prince Rupert and 57 km from Kitimat and this central location facilitates Terrace's role as a central hub for much of the region. Its relatively low altitude and the shelter of the surrounding Coast Mountains give it a moderate climate with less than half the rainfall found on the coast. School District 82 serves Terrace as well as Stewart, Kitimat and the Hazeltons.

UNBC offers an array of courses in the Northwest region, including undergraduate and graduate programs, as well as university transfer course offerings in partnership with Coast Mountain College. Coast Mountain College offers a number of programs there, including University transfer courses at both the first and second year levels, Natural Resources, Business Administration, Applied Computer Technology and Integrated Human Services.