Faculty with Biological Interests

Phil Burton (PhD - Illinois)

pburton@pfc.cfs.nrcan.gc.ca
http://pfc.forestry.ca/profiles/burton-p_e.html

Research Interests: Plant ecology, especially seed biology, forest regeneration, plant competition and vegetation dynamics.


Darwyn Coxson (PhD - McMaster)

darwyn@unbc.ca
http://web.unbc.ca/%7Ewetbelt/biography-coxson.htm

Areas of Interest: Biodiversity in tropical and north temperate environments.


Russ Dawson (PhD - Saskatchewan)

dawsonr@unbc.ca
http://web.unbc.ca/~dawsonr

Research Interests: Importance of proximate and ultimate factors influencing reproductive effort and success in birds.


Keith Egger (PhD - Victoria)

egger@unbc.ca
http://web.unbc.ca/~egger

Research Interests: Molecular ecology and systematics of fungi, mycorrhizae, and microbial communities.


Art Fredeen (PhD - Berkeley)

fredeena@unbc.ca
http://web.unbc.ca/%7Efredeena/alf.html

Research Interests: Forest, plant and soil CO2 exchange; spiral phyllotaxis in pines; sub-boreal plant and lichen diversity & function.


Michael Gillingham (PhD - UBC)

michael@unbc.ca
http://web.unbc.ca/~michael

Research Interests: Population and wildlife ecology, modeling, statistics, plant-herbivore interactions, behavioural ecology.


Scott Green (PhD - University of Wisconsin)

greens@unbc.ca
http://web.unbc.ca/~greens

Research Interests: Forest ecology, tree adaptation to elevation and latitude; tree/ecosystem response to climatic variation.


Alex Hawley (PhD - Saskatchewan)

alex@unbc.ca

Research Interests: Animal and human interaction with the environment.


Dezene Huber (PhD - Simon Fraser University) 

huber@unbc.ca
http://web.unbc.ca/~huber

Research Interests: Insect/Plant interactions, plant defense against insect herbivory, insect resistance to plant defenses, chemical ecology, forest insect pest management.


Chow Lee (PhD - Flinders, Australia)

leec@unbc.ca

Research Interests: Biochemical reactions of mRNA as a possible target for the treatment of cancer.


Kathy Lewis (PhD - Oregon State)

lewis@unbc.ca
http://www.unbc.ca/lewis/index.html

Research Interests: Insect forest pathology, disease in natural disturbance of ecosystems; population genetics of root disease fungi.


Staffan Lindgren (PhD - Simon Fraser)

lindgren@unbc.ca
http://web.unbc.ca/~lindgren

Research Interests: Forest insect ecology and management, chemical ecology of forest insects.


William (Bill) McGill (PhD - Saskatchewan)

mcgill@unbc.ca

Research Interests: Soil microbiology and biochemistry, global biogeochemical cycles, soil organic matter dynamics, simulation modeling, soil remediation and environmental quality.


Hugues Massicotte (PhD - Guelph)

hugues@unbc.ca

http://web.unbc.ca/forestry/Hugues/

Research Interests: Microbial ecology, structure and function of mycorrhizae, rhizosphere interactions.


Brent Murray (PhD - McMaster)

murrayb@unbc.ca

Research Interests: Molecular evolution and ecology of vertebrates. Comparative immunogenetics of aquatic vertebrates.


Ken Otter (PhD - Queen's)

otterk@unbc.ca
www.unbc.ca/ken-otter

Research Interests: Animal communication, reproductive strategies, behavioural ecology, avian ecology.


Katherine Parker (PhD - Washington State)

parker@unbc.ca
http://web.unbc.ca/~parker/

Research Interests: Wildlife biology, plant-animal interactions, nutritional and physiological ecology, bioenergetics.


Lisa Poirier   (PhD - Simon Fraser)

poirierl@unbc.ca
http://web.unbc.ca/~poirierl/

Research Interests: Insect behaviour and ecology; chemical ecology and management of forest insects; aquatic entomology.


Ellen Petticrew (PhD - McGill)

ellen@unbc.ca

Research Interests: Limnology, hydrology, sediment-related envionmental issues.


Roy Rea (PhD - Norwegian University of Life Sciences)

roy.rea@unbc.ca
http://web.unbc.ca/~reav/

Research Interests: Plant-animal interactions, mitigation of ungulate-vehicle encounters through habitat manipulation, considerations for critical habitat features in forest management and planning and science education through research.


Mark Shrimpton (PhD - UBC)

shrimptm@unbc.ca
http://web.unbc.ca/%7Eshrimptm/

Research Interests: Environmental physiology of fish, stress physiology, endocrinology.


Dr. Roger Wheate (PhD - University of St. Andrews)

wheate@unbc.ca
http://web.unbc.ca/geography/faculty/roger/

Research Interests: Cartography, GIS, remote sensing, map design and use, & mapping from satellite image data with respect to organism distributions and habitat use.