Academic and Administrative Leadership

Administrative contact (NMP leadership):
Tanya Stella, Executive Assistant
E
mail: tanya.stella@unbc.ca; Phone: 250-960-5150


Associate Vice President, NMP, UNBC
Regional Associate Dean, Northern BC, UBC Faculty of Medicine
Associate Professor

Dr. Paul Winwood
250-960-5275
winwood@unbc.ca

Dr. Paul Winwood is an internist and gastroenterologist, and came to Northern B.C. with a background in academic medicine from the UK in 2008. He was appointed as the leader of the NMP in 2012. Paul is passionate about medical education and is a strong advocate for rural health. In addition to his continuing medical practice in Prince George B.C., Paul continues to be active in research and teaching.

Assistant Dean - Curriculum, NMP
Associate Professor
Canada Research Chair in Integrative Physiology of Diabetes

Dr. Sarah Gray
250-960-5442
sarah.gray@unbc.ca

Dr. Sarah Gray is an endocrine physiologist specializing in diabetes and obesity. She came to Prince George in 2007 after accepting a faculty position with the NMP. She was appointed as Assistant Dean, NMP in 2016. Sarah is passionate about the contributions the NMP is making to medical education and care in Northern BC. In addition to her role with the program, she is active in biomedical research and teaching.  

Administrative Director
Twylla Hamelin
250-960-5989
twylla.hamelin@unbc.ca

Twylla Hamelin is an administrator with a passion for people and process. She is a true Northerner, having lived her whole life in Prince George, and is also a UNBC alumnus. Twylla joined the NMP in 2005. She has held several positions including Assessment and Evaluation Coordinator, Years 3 & 4  Program Manager, and, since 2013, Administrative Director. Outside the NMP, Twylla is an active volunteer with various local community arts programs.

Curriculum - Years 1 & 2

MEDD Site Director - Years 1 and 2
Senior Lab Instructor

Dr. Sean Maurice
250-960-5443
maurice@unbc.ca

Flexible Enhanced Learning (FLEX) Site Director
FLEX Course Co-Director, UBC Faculty of Medicine

Dr. Richard Lazenby
250-960-6696
lazenby@unbc.ca

Clinical Skills Site Director
Dr. Steven Chang
250-649-7104
PLEASE NOTE: Dr. Chang's contact information is for academic purposes only and not for patient-related matters.

Clinical Skills Site Director
Dr. Jessica Zimbler
jessica.zimbler@unbc.ca
PLEASE NOTE: Dr. Zimbler's contact information is for academic purposes only and not for patient-related matters.

Family Practice Site Director
Dr. Gerrard Prigmore
250-563-6417
gerrardprigmore@shaw.ca
PLEASE NOTE: Dr. Prigmore's contact information is for academic purposes only and not for patient-related matters.

Curriculum & Assessment Manager - Years 1 & 2
Michelle Oster
250-960-5144
osterm@unbc.ca

Administrative Assistant - Years 1 & 2
Jenifer Hartel
250-565-2660
Jenifer.Hartel@unbc.ca

Clinical Program Assistant - Years 1 & 2
Eileen Hunsaker
250-960-5330
eileen.hunsaker@unbc.ca

Assessment & Evaluation Coordinator - Years 1 & 2
Dianna Fors
250-960-5203
dianna.fors@unbc.ca

Clinical Experience Coordinator - Years 1 & 2; Clinical Skills & Family Practice
Trisha Legeard
250-649-7104
trisha.legeard@unbc.ca

Curriculum - Years 3 & 4

Year 3 Clerkship Director
Dr. Devin Spooner
250-649-7102
dspooner@unbc.ca
PLEASE NOTE: Dr. Spooner's contact information is for academic purposes only and not for patient-related matters.

Year 4 Electives Director
Dr. Kathleen O'Malley
kathleen.omalley@unbc.ca
Please note: Dr. O'Malley's contact information is for academic purposes only and not for patient-related matters.

Transition into Postgrad and Professional Practice (TIPP) Site Director
Dr. Keri Closson
250-562-1231
keri.closson@gmail.com
PLEASE NOTE: Dr. Closson's contact information is for academic purposes only and not for patient-related matters.

Integrated Clerkship Site Director - Fort St. John
Dr. Terri Hopkins
Terri.Hopkins@ubc.ca
PLEASE NOTE: Dr. Hopkins' contact information is for academic purposes only and not for patient-related matters.

Site Lead - Northeast Region
Dr. Becky Temple
250-261-7583
Becky.Temple@northernhealth.ca
PLEASE NOTE: Dr. Temple's contact information is for academic purposes only and not for patient-related matters.

Integrated Clerkship Co-Site Director – Terrace
Dr. Natasha De Sousa
natasha.desousa@unbc.ca
PLEASE NOTE: Dr. De Sousa's contact information is for academic purposes only and not for patient-related matters.

Integrated Clerkship Co-Site Director – Terrace
Dr. Denise Jaworsky
denise.jaworsky@unbc.ca
PLEASE NOTE: Dr. Jaworsky's contact information is for academic purposes only and not for patient-related matters.

Site Lead - Northwest Region
Dr. Karin Blouw
Karin.blouw@northernhealth.ca
PLEASE NOTE: Dr. Blouw's contact information is for academic purposes only and not for patient-related matters.

Curriculum and Assessment Manager - Years 3 & 4
Jennifer Young
250-565-5763
jennifer.young@unbc.ca

Clinical Program Assistant - Years 3 & 4; Brain and Behaviour Block (Internal Medicine and Psychiatry) and the Ambulatory Care Block (Dermatology, Ophthalmology, IM AMB and Emergency)
Carol Brown
250-649-7581
carol.brown@unbc.ca

Clinical Program Assistant - Years 3 & 4; Year 4 Electives and Transition into Postgrad and Professional Practice
Deanna Brown
250-565-5773
Deanna.Brown@unbc.ca
Fax: 250-649-7105

Clinical Program Assistant - Years 3 & 4; Surgical Perioperative Block (General Surgery, Anesthesia, Urology, Orthopedics, Radiation Oncology and Plastics) and Women and Children’s Block (Pediatrics and Obstetrics/Gynecology)
Melissa Kandler
250-649-7246
melissa.kandler@unbc.ca

Assessment & Evaluation Coordinator - Years 3 & 4
Denise Marcotte
250-649-7246
denise.marcotte@unbc.ca

Administrative Assistant - Years 3 & 4
Doran Schuur 
250-960-6664
doran.schuur@unbc.ca

Integrated Clerkship & Post-Graduate Coordinator - Fort St. John
Kim Furlong
250-261-7583
kim.furlong@unbc.ca

Integrated Clerkship & Post-Graduate Coordinator - Terrace
Manon Joice
250-638-4023
manon.joice@unbc.ca

Clinical Program Assistant - Smithers
Elizabeth Zweck 
zweckvo@unbc.ca

Faculty Development

Regional Faculty Development Co-Director
Dr. Tammy Attia
Tammy.Attia@unbc.ca
Please note: Dr. Attia's contact information is for academic purposes only and not for patient-related matters.

Regional Faculty Development Co-Director
Senior Lab Instructor

Dr. Julia Wimmers-Klick
250-960-5152
Julia.Wimmers-Klick@unbc.ca

Administrative Assistant - Northern Medical Program
Amber Rushton
250-960-6352
Amber.Rushton@unbc.ca

Library

Health Sciences Librarian
Dr. Trina Fyfe
250-960-5195
trina.fyfe@unbc.ca

Research

Research Lead
Associate Professor
Division Head, Radiation Oncology, UBC

Dr. Robert Olson
250-645-7335
rolson2@bccancer.bc.ca

Administrative Assistant - Faculty
Lisa Munro
250-960-6731
lisa.munro@unbc.ca

Simulation

 

Simulation Lead
Dr. Matthew Wahab
matthew.wahab@alumni.ubc.ca
PLEASE NOTE: Dr. Wahab's contact information is for academic purposes only and not for patient-related matters.

Student Affairs

Assistant Dean - Student Affairs
Dr. Leigh Hunsinger-Chang
250-960-5149
Leigh.Hunsinger-Chang@unbc.ca

Admissions Site Coordinator / Student Affairs Coordinator
Shelley Raper
250-960-5165
Shelley.Raper@unbc.ca

Support Services

Audio Visual Technician II
Dale Laluk
250-960-5101
dale.laluk@unbc.ca

Audio Visual Technician
Sebastian Newall
250-960-5876
sebastian.newall@unbc.ca

Audio Visual Tech Assistant
Devin Vassallo
250-960-5896
devin.vassallo@unbc.ca

Executive Assistant to Associate Vice President, Northern Medical Program; and, Assistant to Dr. Sarah Gray
Tanya Stella
250-960-5150
tanya.stella@unbc.ca

Finance Coordinator
Lisa Viik
250-960-5146
lisa.viik@unbc.ca

Communications Officer, NMP and UNBC
Sonya Kruger
250-960-5122
sonya.kruger@unbc.ca

Administrative Assistant, Physical Therapy, Northern and Rural Cohort; and NMP
Shannon Norum
250-960-5806
shannon.norum@unbc.ca

Director, Northern Pathways to Medicine
Anne Sommerfeld
250-960-6655
anne.sommerfeld@unbc.ca

Administrative Assistant, Northern Pathways to Medicine; and NMP
Abby Lodge
960-6800
abby.lodge@unbc.ca

Volunteer Patient Program

Patient Program Supervisor
Katherine Dewijn
250-649-7240
Katherine.Dewijn@unbc.ca

Patient Recruiter/Trainer
Jackie Prive
jackie.prive@unbc.ca