UNBC Scholars

The UNBC Scholars program recognizes Grade 11 students in Northern BC and Yukon for outstanding academic achievement.

The scholarship will take the form of a waiver of full tuition to a maximum of 120 credits (or the number of credits required for a bachelor's degree). Students do not apply to be UNBC Scholars. Rather, at the start of their Grade 12 year, each high school in Northern BC and Yukon (see the following list) will indicate the student with the highest grade point average based on the student's Grade 11 marks (minimum 80%). The GPA will be calculated on the basis of the highest grade received in English 11 or 12 or English First Peoples 11 or 12, and the highest grade received in Math 11 or 12, and the next four highest marks in Grade 11 courses (to include three academic courses and one elective).

UNBC will make provisional offers of admission to the students who are selected as UNBC Scholars. If a student selected as a UNBC Scholar does not maintain at least an 80% average in Grade 12, or if they choose not to attend UNBC, they waive all rights to the scholarship program, which is not transferable to any other student or institution. Other student fees, such as the student society fees, and fees for athletics and recreation will be the responsibility of the recipient. The recipient will also be required to pay for all of their books and course materials. While UNBC Scholars will be guaranteed a place in residence if they wish, they will be responsible for residence fees.  The scholarship is renewable each year provided the student maintains at least a "B" average over the academic year, enrolls as a full-time student, and completes 24 credit hours each academic year (with registration in at least 12 credit hours of course work in each of the September and January semesters).

Meet the Scholars

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, annual pictures/posters of new UNBC Scholars Award recipients has been suspended until further notice.  

Meet the Scholars

2019-2020 Scholars

Past Scholars


The recipients must:

  • Meet UNBC Admission requirements (refer to the academic calendar for details),
  • Be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident at the time of nomination,
  • Maintain at least an 80% average in Grade 12,
  • Register as a full-time student at UNBC for the academic year immediately following the nomination,
  • Students must register in 24 credit hours per academic year to keep their UNBC Scholar eligibility,
  • Students must be registered in 12 credit hours in each of the September and January semesters.

The scholarship is renewable annually, provided the student:

  • Maintains at least a "B" average over the academic year, and
  • Remains registered as a full-time student in at least 12 credit hours in each of the September and January semesters. Students in co-op semesters will have the scholarship deferred to the next study semester.

Eligible BC Schools

School District #27

  • Cariboo Adventist Academy
  • Lake City Secondary
  • Peter Skene Ogden Secondary

School District #28

  • Correlieu Secondary School

School District #49

  • Acwsalcta Band School
  • Bella Bella Community School
  • Sir Alexander Mackenzie Secondary

School District #50

  • Agnes L. Mathers Elementary Secondary
  • Gudangaay Tlaats'gtaa Naay (formerly George M Dawson Secondary)
  • Gidgalang Kuuyas Naay (formerly Queen Charlotte Secondary)

School District #52

  • Charles Hays Secondary
  • Hartley Bay Elem-Jr Secondary
  • Lach Klan School
  • Pacific Coast School

School District #54

  • Bulkley Valley Christian School
  • Bulkley Valley Education Connection
  • Ebenezer Canadian Reformed School
  • Houston Christian School
  • Houston Secondary
  • Smithers Secondary

School District #57

  • Cedars Christian School
  • CIDES - District 57 Connect
  • College Heights Secondary
  • D P Todd Secondary
  • Ecole Duchess Park Secondary
  • Kelly Road Secondary
  • Mackenzie Secondary
  • McBride Secondary
  • Prince George Secondary
  • Valemount Secondary
  • Westside Academy

School District #59

  • Chetwynd Secondary
  • Dawson Creek Secondary
  • McLeod Elementary Secondary
  • Mountain Christian School
  • Peace Christian School
  • Ron Pettigrew Christian School
  • Tumbler Ridge Secondary

School District #60

  • Hudson's Hope School
  • North Peace Secondary
  • Key Learning Center
  • Prespatou Elem-Secondary

School District #81

  • Chalo School
  • Fort Nelson Secondary

School District #82

  • 'Na Aksa Gyilak'yoo
  • Bear Valley School
  • Caledonia Secondary
  • Centennial Christian School
  • Hazelton Secondary 
  • Moricetown Elementary & Secondary School
  • Mount Elizabeth Middle/Secondary
  • Parkside Secondary

School District #87

  • Aatse Davie School
  • Atlin School
  • Dease Lake School

School District #91

  • Babine Elem-Secondary
  • Ebus Academy
  • Fort St James Secondary
  • Fraser Lake Elem-Secondary
  • Lakes District Secondary
  • Nechako Valley Secondary
  • Northside Christian School

School District #92

  • Nisga'a Secondary

Other Northern Schools 

  • West Coast Adventist Academy

Eligible Yukon Schools


  • CSSC Mercier Secondary
  • FH Collins Secondary
  • Porter Creek Secondary
  • Vanier Catholic Secondary

Rural Schools

  • Del Van Gorder School
  • J.V. Clark School
  • St. Elias Community School
  • Tantalus School
  • Watson Lake Secondary

Don’t see your school on the list and think it might be eligible? Email UNBC’s Awards & Financial Aid Unit for more information, awards@unbc.ca.