WBB: 2019-2020 Canada West conference schedule released

June 11, 2019

Fresh off their third consecutive Canada West playoff berth, and their first conference playoff victory, the UNBC Timberwolves Women’s basketball team now knows its opponents for the upcoming 2019-2020 season.

The Timberwolves open the season at home, welcoming the Victoria Vikes to the Northern Sport Centre on November 1st and 2nd.

The first roadtrip of the season is set for the November 8th and 9th weekend, when they reunite with the Trinity Western Spartans. The Langley Events Centre will likely bring back good memories for the TWolves, as it was the location of the program’s first playoff victory on February 9th.

The 2019 segment of the schedule wraps up on November 22nd and 23rd, in Kamloops against the Thompson Rivers WolfPack.

The Timberwolves are on the road early in the new year, paying a visit to the Calgary Dinos on January 3rd and 4th, 2020. The Dinos eliminated UNBC from the Canada West playoffs in two games in February.

The TWolves wrap up the regular season schedule at home, welcoming the MacEwan Griffins to the NSC on February 8th and 9th.

Coach Sergey Shchepotkin’s squad finished last season with an 11-9 record, the first winning campaign since joining the USPORTS level.

They bid farewell to first-team Canada West All-Star Vasiliki Louka, along with veteran point guard Abby Gibb, from last season’s roster. However, the cupboards are full of established and up-and-coming talent.  Two-time Canada West all-star Maria Mongomo will be back for her fifth season, while Madison Landry returns looking to build on a season that saw her finish 13th in the country in scoring. Fifth-year guard Emily Holmes is back, along with third-year defensive standout Alina Shakirova.

The format of the first round of the conference playoffs remain unchanged, and will once again feature single-elimination games between the No. 5 through 12 seeds, while the top four seeds earn a bye. The changes come in the quarter-finals and semifinals, as the two rounds have been compressed, both in terms of the number of games and weeks. Instead of best-of-three quarters and semis, both rounds will now be single-elimination games, being played the same weekend. The top two seeds will host each side of the draw, with the winners eventually meeting the following weekend in the Canada West Championship game.

Again this season, you can watch every CW basketball regular season and playoff game on Canada West TV – the official streaming home of Canada West. 2019-
2020 Canada West TV early-bird passes are on sale now.

2019-2020 UNBC Timberwolves Women’s Basketball Schedule

Friday, November 1 – Victoria @ UNBC – 6 PM
Saturday, November 2 – Victoria @ UNBC – 5 PM

Friday, November 8 – UNBC @ TWU – 6 PM
Saturday, November 9 – UNBC @ TWU – 5 PM

Friday, November 15 – UBC @ UNBC – 6 PM
Saturday, November 16 – UBC @ UNBC – 5 PM

Friday, November 22 – UNBC @ TRU – 7 PM
Saturday, November 23 – UNBC @ TRU – 5 PM

Friday, January 3 – UNBC @ Calgary – 5 PM PT
Saturday, January 4 – UNBC @ Calgary – 4 PM PT

Friday, January 10 – UFV @ UNBC – 6 PM
Saturday, January 11 – UFV @ UNBC – 5 PM

Friday, January 17 – UNBC @ UBCO – 6 PM
Saturday, January 18 – UNBC @ UBCO – 4 PM

Friday, January 24 – Brandon @ UNBC – 6 PM
Saturday, January 25 – Brandon @ UNBC – 5 PM

Friday, January 31 – UNBC @ Regina – 5 PM PT
Saturday, February 1 – UNBC @ Regina – 5 PM PT

Friday, February 7 – MacEwan @ UNBC – 6 PM
Saturday, February 8 – MacEwan @ UNBC – 5 PM