

14 remarkable Canadians selected to receive 2011 National Aboriginal Achievement Award

Recipients introduced in the House of Commons

TORONTO, ON (November 23, 2010) – The first Aboriginal person to play in the NHL, 2010's Miss Indian World and the Vancouver 2010 Olympic gold medal designer are among 14 remarkable Aboriginal Canadians selected to receive a 2011 National Aboriginal Achievement Award (NAAA), an award that celebrates excellence in the Aboriginal community.

The NAAA recipients were recognized in the House of Commons today, saluted by Members of Parliament representing all Canadians and later guests at a reception hosted by Speaker of the House of Commons, Peter Milliken.

The presentation of the 14 honourees in Ottawa, following the official announcement by the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation of their Awards, begins a celebration which will culminate in a special gala event to be held in their honour in Edmonton, Alberta March 11. The 18th National Aboriginal Achievement Awards show celebrates Aboriginal Canadians who have made a profound impact on their communities, across Canada and worldwide.

"Every year the jury selects an extraordinary group of recipients who reveal such outstanding talent and dedicated service," said Roberta Jamieson, President and CEO of the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation. "I know that by honouring their achievement we will continue to inspire many others waiting to demonstrate their potential—that's why the work of the Foundation in providing bursaries to First Nations, Inuit and Métis students is so essential."

"Since the establishment of the Awards in 1994, more than 240 Aboriginal men and women have been honoured for their outstanding career achievements in Canadian arts, business, medicine, and community involvement," said Gerry McCaughey, CIBC's President and CEO. "During that time, the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards have played an important role in making Canadians from coast-to-coast aware of the many contributions that the Aboriginal community has made – and continues to make to our society."

The Award recipients are more than role models in their own communities, they are national leaders, and in the months leading up to the Awards Show, they will have many opportunities to engage with Canadians and share their motivating stories.

2011 National Aboriginal Achievement Award Recipients:

- Dr. Lillian McGregor, Ontario Lifetime Achievement Award
- Teyotsihstokwathe Dakota Brant, Ontario Special Youth Award
- Corrine Hunt, British Columbia Arts
- Joseph F. Dion, Alberta Business & Commerce
- Annie Panguit Peterloosie, Nunavut Culture, Heritage & Spirituality
- Margo L. Greenwood, Alberta Education
- Ronald Edward Sparrow, British Columbia Environment & Natural Resources
- Dr. Marcia Anderson-DeCoteau, Manitoba Health
- Roger Jones, Ontario Law & Justice
- Jean LaRose, Quebec Media & Communications
- Audrey Poitras, Quebec Politics
- Cindy Blackstock, British Columbia Public Service
- Frederick G. Sasakamoose, Saskatchewan Sports
- Dr. Duncan Cree, Quebec Technology & Trades

The 2011 award show will feature Gemini Award and Globe Award-nominee Adam Beach (*Cowboys & Aliens, Flags of Our Fathers, Law & Order: Special Victims Unit, Big Love*) and Evan Adams (*The L Word, Black Christmas*) as co-hosts. Notably, both Beach and Adams co-starred in the cult classic *Smoke Signals* in 1998 and will be back on the same professional stage together for the first time in 13 years.

Show performers include Cree-Canadian country singer/songwriter legend Shane Yellowbird, who was recently awarded Rising Star of the Year at the Canadian Country Music Awards; Juno Award-winning Digging Roots; Canadian rock singer Lucie Idlout and an excerpt from the award winning contemporary dance piece Tono (winner of the 2010 Dora Mavor Moore Award) by Redsky Performing Arts.

Tickets for gala event are available online at www.naaf.ca or by calling: 416-987-0250.

The National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation proudly announces Global and the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) as the returning exclusive broadcast partners of the 18th annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards. Telecast date will be announced soon.

NAAA Supporters for 2010/2011

Presenting Corporate Sponsor: CIBC Lead Partner: Government of Canada

Participating Partners: Canwest, Suncor Energy and the Suncor Energy Foundation, Government of Alberta, Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN), Air Canada, Fort McKay Group of Companies, Syncrude Canada, Tuccaro Inc. Group of Companies, Nexen Inc., City of Edmonton, Rio Tinto Alcan, Tribal Councils Investment Group of Manitoba Ltd., Society of Energy Professionals, Casino Rama, Government of the Northwest Territories, Government of Nunavut, The Fairmont Hotel McDonald

About NAAF

The National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation (NAAF) is a charitable organization dedicated to raising funds to deliver programs that provide the tools necessary for Aboriginal peoples, especially youth to achieve their potential. To date the Foundation through its Education Program has awarded more than \$37-million in scholarships and bursaries to more than 9,800 First Nations, Inuit and Métis students nationwide. NAAF's key initiatives include: The National Aboriginal Achievement Awards (NAAA) a national annual broadcast celebrating 14 achievers in a multitude of career areas including a special youth award and an award for lifetime achievement; Taking Pulse joins NAAF with industry to present career options in specific growth sectors through a series of short documentaries and supporting curriculum materials with the aim of recruiting First Nations, Inuit & Métis youth; and Blueprint for the Future (BFF) a series of one-day career fairs that motivate and inspire First Nations, Inuit and Métis high school students with valuable resources and information on career opportunities. Over 33,000 students have attended these exciting youth oriented events to date nationwide.

-30-

For media interviews, recipient bios and more information, please call: Shauna Simons / Lia Parsley

Media Profile 416-504-8464

Shauna.Simons@mediaprofile.com / Lia.Parsley@mediaprofile.com