# SENATE COMMITTEE ON STUDENT APPEALS (SCA)

## Background and Purpose:

The University Act of British Columbia [RSBC 1996] c. 468, grants Senate the power:

37(1) (v) to establish a standing committee of final appeal for students in matters of academic discipline.

#### And, provides at s. 61 suspension of a student

61(1) The president has the power to suspend and deal summarily with any matter of student discipline.

(2) On the exercise of that power, the president must promptly report the action to the standing committee established under section 37(1)(v) with a statement of his or her reasons

(3) The action of the president is final and subject in all cases to an appeal to the senate.

## Terms of Reference:

- On behalf of Senate, to review and rule on all final appeals from students with respect to:
  - Matters involving academic discipline and standing, and;
  - Matters involving non-academic conduct resulting in suspension.
- To periodically review and provide feedback and recommendations to Senate with respect to University Policies, Procedures and Calendar Regulations, dealing with Student Academic and Non-Academic Conduct and Appeals.

## Membership:

Eight (8) voting members appointed by Senate:

- (i) Five (5) faculty members, including:
  - a) One faculty member, ideally, from each of the five Faculties, at least three of whom should be Senators, and at least one of whom should be from a professional program
- (ii) Three (3) students, including:
  - a) One graduate student Senator
  - b) One undergraduate student Senator
  - c) One Student at Large (who may also be a student Senator), and who ideally is an Aboriginal student
- Chair: A Member of Senate elected annually in October by and from among the members of the Committee.
- Committee Secretary: Secretary of Senate
- Recording Secretary: Governance Officer
- Quorum: Majority, including at least two Faculty Members and one Student

Reporting Month: October

2023 04 SCA Membership

POSITION	INCUMBENT	EXPIRY DATE
Faculty Member (Senator)	Tammy Klassen-Ross	03/31/2024
Faculty Member (Senator)	Julius Bankole	03/31/2026
Faculty Member	Catharine Schiller	03/31/2026
Faculty Member	Ngoc Huynh	03/31/2025
Faculty Member	Jianhui Zhou	03/31/2024
Graduate Student Senator	Ekpeno Ukut	08/31/2023
Undergraduate Student Senator	Caden Walsh	08/31/2023
Student at Large	Cheri Brown	08/31/2023